Strong Tower

tree

There is a tree that I pass every day on my commute to and from work that is the best tree in town. There’s nothing really special about it. It’s just your average pecan tree, that is still leafless this time of year. But I am in love with this tree. I look for it every day and, yes, smile at it as I pass. Sometimes I’ll catch it with the sunrise timed perfectly and the colors behind it glow against the field it’s planted in. It’s just one tree. In a lonely field. But it’s my tree.

God has always talked to me in weird ways; using animals, nature, and even a bowl of cereal. I remember walking along my college campus early one morning and being fascinated by the squirrel population it has. The campus is covered in beautiful, low hanging trees that I’m not even going to pretend to know the names of, and so naturally birds and squirrels are in abundance.

As I was walking, I noticed how easily startled squirrels are. This is not something I was unaware of, but rather something that my attention was on this particular day. I watched as they would freeze when they noticed you coming, and then the closer you got they would BOLT across the lawn and up the nearest tree.

God spoke scripture to me then.

“The name of the Lord is a strong tower; the righteous run to it and are safe.” Proverbs 18:10.

When squirrels are startled, threatened, frightened, or want to get to shelter, they get to a tree. And not just slowly meander across the ground, wondering which way to go, but rather haul tail and climb that tree so fast that bark falls off. The tree is what they know, it’s their safety zone, their comfort, their home…

You and me? We’re squirrels. We’re doing just fine eating our little acorns when something shakes up our world and we don’t know what to do, who to turn to, or where to go. Let me tell you, sister, we can learn something from these crazy rodents. Our God is our tree, our strong tower, our safety, our comfort, our home, our strength, so deeply rooted into the ground that nothing can shake Him. How would our lives be different if at first inkling of being threatened in any way we RUN to Him?

That verse comes to my mind every morning and afternoon as I pass “my” tree.  I know my God is a strong tower and I am safe with Him.

– Bec

Leave a comment